New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2014 · which zoom for a7r: FE 24-70 or CY 35-70

CalBoy87
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · which zoom for a7r: FE 24-70 or CY 35-70

I am on the fence with this one. Considering that FE is AF, native mount, wider it should be an easy choice, but hearing so many good comments regarding Zeiss Contax 35-70/3.4 thinking of getting this one instead. Did anybody compare those two head to head? Read review of both, but hard to find direct comparison. So, please share your opinions here.

Nov 12, 2014 at 05:33 AM
Greggf
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · which zoom for a7r: FE 24-70 or CY 35-70

I've used 3 zooms...Contax 35-70, Minolta MD 35-70/3.5 macro, and Leica R Vario-Elmar 35-70/4 macro...I have no experience with the FE's...
The Contax was the best by a short margin, with incredible sharpness and clarity, and a great macro to boot(1:2)! The Leica R is an incredible lens, with awesome Leica colors and a great feel to it. It also has an incredible macro function(1:2.5) with clarity that meets or exceeds the Contax, but is somewhat cost prohibitive!!
The MD is a little gem! Small, light, very sharp, sweet Minolta colors( very Leica like, since this the sibling to the Leica Vario-Elmar 35-70/3.5), and the cost is around $100!!! It's macro function comes in two flavors: 1:1.7 & 1.4...not as close as the others.
Pick your poison, but I feel all three were really made for the A7 series, especially the Contax. But I still have the MD, and it's my go to walk around lens. You can see examples pages back from the lenses.
I know if a couple people who have the FE 24-70, and they make it look wonderful. Having AF might help, too, along with exif...but I prefer MF myself.
Hope that helps...
Gregg

Nov 12, 2014 at 10:32 AM
tsdevine
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · which zoom for a7r: FE 24-70 or CY 35-70