New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Photoshop Script Black and White Raster to Custom Vector Shape

Mr Mouse
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Photoshop Script Black and White Raster to Custom Vector Shape

Windows Photoshop Script Black and White Raster to Custom Vector Shape

I do not have AI Adobe for I do not want to spend the money and have to learn an other complex Adobe application. I'm no artist either. However at times I wanted to have AI live trace feature to change black and white line drawing into vector graphics. AI creates EPS files with embedded vectors. And can export the vector to Photoshop. Though Photoshop opens EPS as raster layers I find that EPS file created from tracing black and white lines and artwork with programs like potrace that use curves to create black vector shapes. That when these .eps files are opened in Photoshop as Black layer with transparency these layers transparency loaded as a selection and selection converted to path. I find the path are extremely good vector paths.

Potrace is a cross platform open source program packages available for many operating systems. Windows (32 bit) and (64 bit), Mac OS X (Intel), Mac OS X (universal),Linux (32 bit) and (64 bit), Linux (Alpha), Linux (Sparc64), Sun Solaris (Sparc), Sun Solaris (i386), Sun Solaris (x86_64), FreeBSD (i386), NetBSD (i386), OpenBSD (i386), AIX and AROS (i386). Potrace is a command line command. So it can be use started with options and passed a file from bat files and scripts. Potrace requires No instillation. All the required potrace files just need to be place into a folder and potrace run from that folder as the current directory.