New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Neutral B & W printing

J4644
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Neutral B & W printing

Hi,

I have a Canon iPF6300 that I have been using for the past 18 months. My B & W prints usually contain some color casting in them. I have just started reading about making better B and W prints and it is very daunting to say the least. I thought I would ask the FM members for some advice. I do not know which direction I should go in here.

Is it possibly to get neutral B and W prints without using special software or dedicated printers with special ink sets? I would like to see if I can improve my workflow first before spending money on other items. But I get the impression that a dedicated printer for B and W is probably unavoidable. If that is the case, which printer should I be looking at? I do not want to alter my Canon at this point. Should I be looking at Bowhaus and their software, Piezographic inks, a RIP like Quadtone or would something as simple as using Silver Efex improve my prints?

I assume that no matter how good your image is on a good calibrated monitor, as far as B and W is concerned, that the printer is the problem here because it is adding color to your print. Is that essentially true?

Any help on this would be appreciated.

Jim

Oct 26, 2014 at 11:11 AM
howardm4
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Neutral B & W printing

Take a look here...........

http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/article_pages/bw_printing/bw-test-image-2.html

He's got GOBS of in on BW printing and he uses Canon large format.

Oct 26, 2014 at 11:30 AM
J4644
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Neutral B & W printing

Hi Howard,