New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · 70d or 7D Markii

bclif

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 70d or 7D Markii

Currently have the 70D, but thinking of getting the 7D Markii. I'm not a professional photographer,but interested in pursuing photography and see where it goes. I take landscape, sports shots of the kids and their friends, and some portrait shots. I'm thinking the 7D Markii would be a camera I would have a long time considering its build and it's capabilities. What are your thoughts?

Oct 26, 2014 at 09:07 AM
timbop
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 70d or 7D Markii

Wait until the camera is in people's hands for a month, see what images and reviews get posted in real life situations, and evaluate it then. You don't have to replace your camera today.

Oct 26, 2014 at 09:31 AM
Zplusc3
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 70d or 7D Markii

I was in a similar position but decided to get a 70D.

Things like wifi and variangle touch screen are probably features that are considered not necessary by pros and so they were omitted on the 7DII but I feel they are useful for non pros, especially family activity like shooting above crowds or when shooting video.

I rented a 70D for a week and felt the burst rate and AF speed was sufficient for my needs.
Iso performance of the 7DII seems to be better, looking at some of the images floating around, but not a drastic difference.

Considering these things and the price difference and I made my decision.
If your going to be shooting lots of sports and wildlife, I think the 7DII is worth it.
I was also considering the 6D but most of the photos are viewed by family and friends on tablets and phones and so some of the benefit of FF is lost.

Oct 26, 2014 at 10:38 AM
kezeka
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · 70d or 7D Markii

bclif wrote: