New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · School District photo comp. help please

smallrewards
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · School District photo comp. help please

Hi, I am a 4th grade teacher. Our school district has a photography comp. every year, just a small thing. Last year was my first year there and I wont 1st place, really want to do it again.
I have several pictures to choose from, but for a variety of reasons this following one just really touches me and feels like it has tremendous potential. If you could...

-Color or bw?
-Clarity and vibrance hurting the image?
-How do i make the shadows really pop and enhance the lake?
-If color, what wb and how much saturation?
-Other tips...i just recently started looking at it.

Original
original by bmglen, on Flickr

Edit 1
a-9710 by bmglen, on Flickr

Edit 2
a-9710-2 by bmglen, on Flickr

Oct 11, 2014 at 11:57 PM
RustyBug
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · School District photo comp. help please

Congrats on your former win and welcome to the PC Forum.

Your questions invoke several thoughts for me.

The first is that contrast is a driving aspect of what captures attention. Contrast (fundamentally applied definition) is simply a magnitude of difference. We can have contrast in tonal or luminance value, contrast in hue or color value, contrast in saturation value (HSL).

Additionally, we can have contrast in size, shape and texture or pattern and direction as well as sharpness and other attributes. To me, the thing that makes an image "pop" is its contrast ... which is not to simply suggest we ratchet up the contrast slider and call it a day.

In that regard, your last image has more "pop" to me. I see this as a multi-aspect of contrast, to wit:

Color contrast between the warm ground vs. the cool sky
Tonal contrast between the trees vs. lake mist