Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · How to improve outdoor landscape shots?

NightPhoto
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How to improve outdoor landscape shots?

I hope I asked in the right forum, I'm new to outdoor photography. I just got my first fast wide angle lens, Tamron 17-50mm F2.8. When I take shots like the one below, I feel the color is not as rich looking as it could be, and the sky is almost always overexposed. Would a polarizing filter help? I haven't tried one yet. How could I improve the color and quality of the photo?

Edited on Oct 24, 2014 at 03:23 AM · View previous versions

Oct 10, 2014 at 05:54 PM
FarmerJohn
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · How to improve outdoor landscape shots?

Joseph!
Welcome to critique!

You've asked a lot of questions, so hopefully you don't mind a lot of answers. Hope it's not too overwhelming.

Polarizing filters help with getting those dark blue skies, or you can also do various PS/LR things (reduce blue luminance) to get the same effect. If the sky is overexposed, you probably want to look into the various bracketing or blending methods. I wouldn't go overboard on the HDR effects, but realistic blending and bracketing really helps in these sorts of scenes.

Certainly time of day makes a big difference for quality of light and color. Closer to sunrise/sunset is 'typically' better. But you can take good photos at other times of day, but the typical advice is sunrise/sunset.