Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Calibrate all my lenses or go for a new 1D X?

memoria
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Calibrate all my lenses or go for a new 1D X?

OK, so I've been switching cameras back and forth for many many years. I've been with Canon and will stay with Canon. I've worked with the 5D, 5D mark 2, 5D mark 3, 6D, 1D mark IV and 1Ds Mark III. My current setup is 1Ds3 (two bodies), a 1D IV and a 6D as backup / lighter alternative.

Anyway...about a year ago I was working with 5D Mark 3 and made a somewhat unusual "downgrade" and got myself a couple of 1Ds3's instead. So far, I've been extremely satisfied with the simply AMAZING files coming out from these cameras. To this day, I haven't found any other model with such lovely character.

Now, however I am starting to notice something... AF calibration issues. All my lenses are somewhat soft and simply won't nail critical focus anymore (they were orignally calibrated against my 5D3 bodies so I guess it makes sense). I thought it wouldn't be that much of an issue thanks to the built-in microfocus adjustment, but for zooms it is unrealiable (for obvious reasons). And it doesn't seem to work for all distances.

So I'm in a position where I will need Canon to professionally calibrate all my lenses against (at least) my two 1Ds3 bodies. Problem is, I have (and regulary use) at least 6 lenses and it will cost at least 150 dollars per lens/body combination. I figured If I want all lenses properly calibrated it will set me back around $2000 (no joke).