New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Editing

Nickyb21
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Editing

Does anyone pay someone else to edit their photo's for them? I suck at editing and am self taught, what looks good on my screen may look like crap on another. I tend to over-edit, over saturate, etc etc.

Thoughts?
If yes, who and how much? You can PM me this if you want to be discrete.

Sep 24, 2014 at 08:10 AM
Paul Mo
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Editing

Strictly speaking editing is image selection and sequencing - say into order for a photo essay.

Post-processing is the term used to describe digitally processing an image using software.

Calibrate your screen regularly. Look at images you admire and try and replicate it. Experiment but be conservative at first. Try to define a look you like - a signature look if possible.

Sep 24, 2014 at 09:21 AM
ckcarr
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Editing

A legit question. Why are you editing then?

Editing is not a requirement of enjoying photography. It can be a detriment.
You can enhance photos; sure, but you can also really mess them up.

Why not set the camera settings to your most commonly used (like camera standard, or landscape) and just enjoy shooting jpegs? There's a well respected photographer on the Nikon board who shoots strictly jpegs, and makes a career doing it. He relies on his finely tuned in-camera settings.

Or, shoot raw & jpeg. Save the raw for future use, if ever.

Trying to get consistency among displays and browsers is difficult at best. I have three computers I use, every one shows a picture differently. And yes, they are all calibrated. Doesn't matter.