New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2014 · D3s or D4?

diamondroad
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · D3s or D4?

I'm a wedding photographer who shoots with two D700's..both of which are coming to the end of thier lives. I'm torn between the D3s or the D4. Which would you pick and why?

Before you even mention the D800 or the D810…my wife had a D800 which was HORRIBLE. The shutter was defaulted and had to be replaced twice by Nikon. She ended up buying a D810….and yet again, shutter problems. So I'm picking either the D3s or the D4.

Thanks

Sep 20, 2014 at 10:35 AM
Grantland
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · D3s or D4?

I am not a wedding photographer . . . but

I'd say if your budget can afford a D4 then get the D4. I personally shoot with a D3s and it is a great camera. I heard the D4 was not that much of an upgrade to a D3s so I went with a D3s. With the $1000 I saved I bought some glass.

I'm sure others who have shot both cameras will chime in with great advice.

Grant

Sep 20, 2014 at 10:50 AM
Joseph.
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · D3s or D4?

D4 for me. Illuminated buttons were nice to have when I shot night weddings and receptions.

Sep 20, 2014 at 11:03 AM
Gregg Heckler
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · D3s or D4?

I wouldn't definitely want the higher resolution plus the extra shutter life of the D4.

Sep 20, 2014 at 11:08 AM
diamondroad
• •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · D3s or D4?

Thanks everyone…..time to save a little more money for the D4. Anyone have any thoughts on a refurbished D4? I've never bought reburbished before but might consider it.

Sep 20, 2014 at 11:28 AM
John Skinner
• • •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · D3s or D4?

The upgrade from D3s to D4 IS in fact quite minimal overall. If one factors the glass used on such a body, it could be even less.

I'm of the opinion, and will assume you are asking this question with a full arsenal of fast 'better known' 2.8 models that you shoot with.