New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2014 · Do you like the velocity of Canon FF body upgrade

mingzeli
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Do you like the velocity of Canon FF body upgrade

As I posted on the Nikon forum, Nikon has become Desperate after D4 with 6 FF(D750, D810, D4s, D610, D600, D800(E)) released on an average of 163 days between releases(I consider D800 and D800 one camera here). On the other hand, Canon only released 3 FF(5D III, 1DC, 6D) and hasn't released any FF after 09/17/2012.

Are you happy with Canon's speed?

Check out my post on Nikon forum:

https://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1318163

Sep 14, 2014 at 03:36 PM
StillFingerz
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Do you like the velocity of Canon FF body upgrade

Eighteen month release cycles have been the norm and it's fine by me, but I'm not a pro and usually don't upgrade quickly, four to five yrs is my norm, unless something amazing is produced

Sep 14, 2014 at 03:56 PM
Glenn NK
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Do you like the velocity of Canon FF body upgrade

When a technology approached maturity, the pace of developments slows considerably; so I think this is the issue with DSLR bodies - the technology is very mature (it's pretty well impossible to get a bad one).

Unfortunately, we are accustomed to rapid changes and frequent upgrades, and it's just not going to happen as fast as it has in the past.

Furthermore, our insatiable desire for more and better (different?) may be largely what is driving the mirrorless craze, because there will be very little better/different in the foreseeable future with DSLR bodies.

Glenn

Sep 14, 2014 at 04:06 PM
chez
• • • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Do you like the velocity of Canon FF body upgrade

I purchase my gear on my own cycle, when I feel there is a better camera that meets my needs closer. I don't care if there are another 10 cameras released as long as my needs are met with one.