New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2014 · Normal lens recommendations for Canon 6D

ontime
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Normal lens recommendations for Canon 6D

EDIT: RESOLUTION: Picked up a 24-105 f/4L. Versatility of the lens fits travel and my shooting style well. Several of you recommended this and Dan drove it home.

Hey all,

I'm looking for normal prime for my 6D. I've done a lot of research on various lenses. Obviously, the 45-55mm focal length is very popular so there's a lot of information out there. I guess what I'm looking for is a discussion to cover any outside-the-box lenses (MF alt lenses, or zooms, for example) or a push in a direction to help me decide. I'm totally at a stalemate here in my head.

What I will be shooting:
- I'm an omnivore amateur. The lens will be used for people, street, events, cityscape, landscape, etc.
- I will be going to Tokyo for 16 days in October. That is the priority for the purchase.

Current gear:
Canon 6D; Tokina 11-16 f2.8, Sigma 35mm f1.4 Art, Canon 85mm f1.8

Budget: $1,000 maximum

Lenses I've looked at... and my personal thoughts. + is good, - is bad.
Sigma 50mm f1.4 Art
+ One of the best lenses in its class. I own the 35 Art and it's my favorite lens.
+ I own the Sigma dock.
- Super big and heavy. It's bigger than my 35 Art which is a beast. This is the biggest reason I haven't purchased this lens yet.
- Cost is nearly $1000 (which is excellent given the performance I should say)

Canon 50mm f1.4
+ Excellent bargain lens (I've owned it on APS-C and enjoyed it)
+ Above-average performance throughout the aperture range
+ Light and small
- Slightly hesitating on the 50 1.4 as I want to try something different (was: "lens is boring"; it ain't boring!)

Zeiss 50mm f1.4 Planar T*
+ Unique rendering in comparison to other lenses in its class
+ Decent performance after about f2.8