New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Food & Drink Critique

Matt Hoffart
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Food & Drink Critique

Hello,

Today I have some food & drink for a local restaurant website. (This was my first attempt at shooting food & drink).

Food & drink was a secondary request from the client with less than an hour window to photograph it. Needless to say although I'm not a professional food photographer my approach to these shots would have been a lot different on a more demanding food job.

C&C HIGHLY WELCOME!

Thanks in advance!

Edited on Sep 07, 2014 at 08:08 PM · View previous versions

Sep 07, 2014 at 07:10 PM
Matt Hoffart
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Food & Drink Critique

Since upload the following corrections have been made:

Pizza:
The huge red spot on the woodgrain.
Minor cleanup around the edges, and on spatula.

Burger:
The "ring" that is appearing in front of the ketchup.

Sep 07, 2014 at 07:39 PM
Eyeball
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Food & Drink Critique

Food photography is tough. Hat's off to you for even making the attempt.

My non-professional feedback:
- First, I think you made it over the first hurdle of not making the food look unappetizing.
- On the other hand, I don't think you have gotten to the place yet where you are making the food look really great.
- The white background was maybe dictated by the layout requirements or for some other reason but I think that, combined with very even lighting, makes the food and drink come off somewhat sterile. It's kind of like you are documenting the food but not selling it.
- The white and even lighting also hides a lot of "deliciousness indicators" like steam rising from the food and frost/water on the glass.
- The white and the very neutral white balance gives a cool/cold look, which doesn't work that bad for the drinks but makes the food look like it's been setting out for a while.