Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Nikon D3.. to repair or write off?

darrenleow

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Nikon D3.. to repair or write off?

Background: I used to shoot a couple of paid gigs, photojournalism for the college paper, and sports photography. But I'm now a much more casual user, though I'm quite spoiled by the D3's professional-grade quality and responsiveness. I also love that 9/11 fps is there when I need it, but mostly shoot around 5fps. Hardly shoot any video so it would be a good-to-have but not necessary at all. Really enjoy the D3's size and solid feeling, but the shutter is really loud and conspicuous.

I have a Nikon D3 that I've been using for the last 2+ years or so (bought 2nd hand), roughly 200k+ clicks on it. During a rainy shoot it just died -- the playback and menu buttons wouldn't work, and moving the drive mode to Live View would cause the shutter release to become unresponsive. Oddly it came back to life after sitting around a couple of months in my dry cabinet, but has gone back to its broken state. I can still use the camera as-is, just have no access to playback or menus, thus rendering the camera operable but a major risk to shoot anything important with.

Nikon has quoted me about US$1000+ to repair the camera and replace the shutter unit. I know that the D3 is an ancient camera, though still perfectly fine for my needs.I've checked and found that a 2nd hand D3 isn't about 1.5x to 2x more expensive than the repair cost. Plus there are many newer cameras on the market, though I don't know if the new tech is worth stepping down in terms of the build quality (D4 is definitely out of my budget)