New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · I need your advice.

AFphotography
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · I need your advice.

I have been doing doing photography for about 6 years now. The last 3 years have involved many paid gigs from portrait sessions and weddings to real estate. Photography is a side hobby/job that I do in addition to my full-time job as a Radiology Technologist. Lately I have been completely burned out. My creativity seems to be lacking and I have been having a hard time coping with the constant demands of this field. I have a true passion for the art and I really enjoy doing it when I'm not overwhelmed with it. Ive turned down a couple weddings and multiple portrait sessions in the last couple weeks because I need to figure out how to get a better balance of work and play. Any advice would be great. At this point I am really considering hanging it up but I have a feeling I will be giving up a great passion. Thanks

Sep 03, 2014 at 09:37 AM
friscoron
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · I need your advice.

If you don't need the money, then cut back on the paid gigs. Focus on free shoots in which you get to create the kind of art that you're passionate about. Once you start developing a portfolio like that, people may hire you to do the types of shoots that you're passionate about. The reason you're burned out is that you're doing shoots that you don't really want to be doing. Stop accepting those!

If you need the money, then it's a different story.

Sep 03, 2014 at 09:54 AM
Prettym1k3
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · I need your advice.

Ron speaks the truth. If you don't have to do it, step back a little bit.

I've done a few things in the past few years that, at least for the 5 years I've gone head first into the wedding/portrait industry, have kept me sane.