New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Question for pros..

SonomaMike
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Question for pros..

Hello all -

There's a local high-end "home" store that's soon to be open here in Sonoma and the owner has contacted me to display for sale five to six large metal prints of my photography.

I'm a vineyard manager by trade and dabble in photography as a hobby. I've donated prints to fundraisers over the last few years and really get a sense of satisfaction when they sell for a good cause. Anyway, she found my photos through a local charity auction and has asked if I want the pictures shown on consignment or she will buy them outright from me. I'm honored for being considered, but I'm not sure the direction to go. I don't consider myself a pro (far from it), but I'm proud of my photos and don't want to be taken advantage of. Is there an advantage to consignment? I'm way out of my league here and want to do the right thing.

Thanks for your time!

Mike

Aug 30, 2014 at 09:08 PM
dmacmillan
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Question for pros..

Mike,
First, I hope you are OK after the earthquake. I was in Sonoma 6 weeks ago and loved it! I thought about all my new friends and hope they weren't affected.

I would think it's a matter of a "bird in hand", trading more potential income for a sure sale.