New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2014 · PHOTTIX MITROS TEST RESULTS

datfish

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · PHOTTIX MITROS TEST RESULTS

Hi ,
I recently purchased a Phottix Mitros+ Flash to add to my 2 x 580 EXii's, a 430 Ex units and to combine with my Odin Trigger system. I have been using the Odins for about 9 months and have been impressed with their reliability and function when paired with the Canon Flash units. In fact very impressed given their price relative to the Canon 600 RX RT alternative !... and still am.

Initially when I included the Mitros+ into the mix , everything seemed to work very well until I started taking a little more notice. I started to find the Mitros+ light was stronger than the 580's when used with remote ttl control to set levels whilst having the flash mode set to manual via the Odin TCU. This was not an issue in itself , but the relative strength was not consistent across the power range. In Particular the 1/2 power on the Mitros+ was significantly higher than the 580 Exii , all other things constant.

Anyway to cut a long story short I also recently bought a Sekonic L-308s Flash Meter, so I decided to do a side by side test of the Mitros+ V 580EXii across a number of control/triggering scenarios across the power range as follows:-

Tests of Mitros +
a) Controlled and triggered by external Odin TCU using internal Odin RX
b) Controlled and triggered by external Odin TCU using External Odin RX
c) Controlled and triggered by Camera hotshoe and Menus
d) Controlled and triggered Manually

Results for c & d were identical

Tests of CANON 580EXII
a) Controlled and triggered by external Odin TCU using External Odin RX
b) Controlled and triggered by a Mitros+ internal Odin TX using External Odin RX
c) Controlled and triggered by Camera hotshoe and Menus
d) Controlled and triggered Manually

Again Results for c & d identical