New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Stork Delivery - CC pls

codroy
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Stork Delivery - CC pls

We have been blessed with a baby boy recently. I am a wildlife photographer and don't do much people photography apart from family events or such. However I want to improve my skills at people photography with an intent to snap and record my little son's moments.
Also first couple of shots are from my old Nikon D5000. I recently acquired a D800e and have been shooting with it since then (still adjusting to the full frame format).
I am sure there are many areas for me to improve and I would love to hear from you guys so that I would work on those in the future.

1. What I don't like: Texture of blanket, wrinkles on the blanket next to head

D5000, 50mm, f/2, ISO 200, Natural light

2. What I don't like: New father shopping, didn't get the hat size right

D5000, 50mm, f/2, ISO 200, Natural light

3. What I don't like: The hand in foreground slightly covering face

D800e, 50mm, f/2, ISO 400, Natural light

Aug 17, 2014 at 05:29 PM
Jonathan Brady
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Stork Delivery - CC pls

I probably don't know what I'm talking about so feel free to totally disregard all of this :-) lol

#1 crop off the left and just get rid of it. Also, consider cropping off some of the top as well. In my mind, I'm placing your sons eyes at about the upper 1/3 intersection. Maybe a tad towards the middle.

#2 kind of agree about the hat size. It tends to dominate the image (IMO) as it's the closest to the camera and it's big

#3 I don't mind his hand in front of his face. Babies move and their hands and feet are constantly moving. To me, that's part of the fun :-)

Overall, I don't think any of them belong in the trash and in a few more months you'll look back on them even more fondly :-)

Aug 17, 2014 at 07:40 PM
NYstyles
• • •