Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3              21       22       end

Archive 2014 · Do you think Canon's tightlippedness is hurting or helping them?

howard
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Do you think Canon's tightlippedness is hurting or helping them?

Ok, I admit I am getting increasingly frustrated by the lack of information from Canon (no, I do not think there has been any leaks, intentionally or not, from Canon; I think all the so-called rumors are made up wishful thinking. They may coincide with reality, as at this point the demand for a high-res, high-perf APS-C camera is there, and it is natural to postulate the release of such a model .. but I digress ...)

Anyway, I am an engineer myself, and in my profession (software), it is customary for large vendors to give a road map, then at certain point in the lifecycle of a release to give users preview, alpha, beta releases, etc. Of course, I understand hardware (cameras) is a little different, as prototypes are more expensive to make, etc. But still, giving the user base a well-defined road map can only help boost the confidence of such user base in the company's ability to deliver.

I think Canon is still operating in a very old-fashioned way. So what is the new fashion you ask? I say that in this day and age of internet and social media, Canon, as a company, needs to learn how to endear itself to its customer base and bolster their confidence and loyalty to its brand, not to mention that giving out road map and early spec lists, etc. are great ways to garner user feedback which can only lead to better products. I think Canon has been to arrogant to listen to its users.

My $0.02.

Howard

Aug 12, 2014 at 10:47 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On