Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       3              8       9       end

Archive 2014 · Canon to Nikon

canerino
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Canon to Nikon

I've shot Canon from the beginning and have always flirted with Nikon. They really opened my eyes when they came out with the d700 and d3. I played with a d700 for about an hour in a camera store once, but decided that it was just too much work to sell off my canon stuff.

Here I am again. I'm considering getting the Nikon Df. What's funny is that when the camera first came out, I bashed the price of it (and probably a few other things). Well, the price has settled to a reasonable level (in the used market) and Nikon has a very nice selection of primes.

Why change?

1) Sensor. I was pretty happy with my Canon files....still am. But I have been shooting a Sony RX1 for the past 8 months and it definitely yields better results (image quality) than my Canon. Is this any 'real' difference in the clients eyes? Probably not. But I know its there and it bothers me a bit. I also think that the Df's 16 MP is the ideal size for wedding shooters.

2) Size. While I havent held a Df, it seems smaller than the 5d3 and is lighter. Also, the Nikon G 1.8 primes are significantly smaller than my current L lenses.

3) Something new. I've always been a gearhead, however, since photography has become a 'business' for me, playing with various gear isnt a great 'business' move. I've done some math and I think I'd be just about even in the setup I would be looking at, so why not?

What is holding me back a bit:

1) Flashes. I love the 600ex rts that I have. SO intuitive and completely reliable.

2) 135L. From what I understand, there really isnt a Nikon counterpart.

What am I missing? Why should I do it? Why shouldnt I do it?

Aug 01, 2014 at 11:08 PM
form
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Canon to Nikon

Think of me and you will immediately perceive the answer.