New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · DNG or RAW?

kv9f68
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · DNG or RAW?

I'm pretty new to photography and just got LR 5. I'm not sure if I should use the DNG format or just stick with RAW and was wondering what method you all use and which you think is "better". I'm still trying to wrap my head around the whole LR process and where all my files are and whatnot. I'm computer savvy but not THAT much

Right now I have raw+jpeg photos in a folder on my desktop and instead of just "adding" them to LR, I'm copying them (since I don't have any back-ups) into a separate Lightroom folder on my desktop. I then use that folder in LR to convert them to DNG's while erasing the raw file in the process and go back into that folder and delete the jpegs. So all I end up with in those folders are DNG's All the while I have the original raw+jpegs in the other folder. My thought is that when I get an external hard drive I can then just drag the orginal folder with the raw+jpegs to it and I'll have my backup while maintaining a LR folder on my hard drive that LR will still recognize.

I plan on shooting just raw from now on so the jpeg part won't be an issue but I have a feeling that I'm doing a lot of unnecessary work for little to no benefit. I've watched countless hours of videos and read endless articles (even got a book) on the process but still think I'm either missing something or just complicating things for no reason. I"m pretty sure I'm making this harder than it has to be.

Sorry if that's confusing but any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Just keep it simple please

Jul 26, 2014 at 06:28 AM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · DNG or RAW?

for me its RAW .