Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Beach portraits/lifestyle shoot in Hawaii....

amiletich

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Beach portraits/lifestyle shoot in Hawaii....

Can anyone give some guidance and feedback for lighting on a potential beach lifestyle shoot in Hawaii.

I will be on Oahu later this year and have been wanting to get more into lifestyle and portrait photography and thought this would be fun opportunity to try some shots with my girlfriend. I am still an amateur but have primarily focused mostly on static car shoots. I will have my 5D3 with a 24-105mm and maybe a prime such as the 50mm/85mm or could consider renting a longer range lens if needed.

I would like to primarily shoot with natural light if possible. I am not very familiar with using onboard flash, but I know this can come in handy for fill flash and would like to learn and practice this with this more.

When I am near the water, should I still be using a polarizing filter to reduce the glare?

Any other suggestions or guidance? Appreciate the help!

Jul 24, 2014 at 06:39 PM
Paul_K
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Beach portraits/lifestyle shoot in Hawaii....

Although I've unfortunately never been to Hawaii , I've had my bit of shooting fashion/models on the beach/at the sea side, and have also shot quite a lot of surf (although again not on locations as spectacular as Hawaii ).

Wity regards to shooting during the day, IMO the words of Noel Coward in 'Only Mad dogs and Englishman ....' still apply.