New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Grandpa and grandson

beavens
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Grandpa and grandson

I was visiting my brother and SIL (along with their newborn twins) and got this candid shot with my old man and my new nephew.

I have little to no experience shooting and processing people (BW helps!), so don't hold back on anything!

I don't recall how much real estate I'm working with, but I'm pretty sure the shot is barely cropped as-is.

Is the extra bit of light on the baby's forehead over the top? Highlights have already been pulled way back, but I might have some wiggle room. Are the cropped fingers at the bottom one of those awkward portrait no-no's?

Thanks!

Jeff

Jul 24, 2014 at 09:15 AM
ben egbert
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Grandpa and grandson

This is a good example of what I was trying to do with my proud papa shot. I don't do B&W so I can't comment on that. I think you did a better job with the light and comp and subject isolation.

Jul 24, 2014 at 09:37 AM
beavens
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Grandpa and grandson

Thanks Ben - I'm gonna have to say the lighting and comp were more circumstantial than any direction that I gave, but I'll take the compliment regardless!

Jul 24, 2014 at 09:44 AM
sbeme
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Grandpa and grandson

Not much of a people photographer myself, but I am learning and trying to improve my eye.
What do I see?
Pose is excellent with clear relationship between grandpa's gaze and the grandchild
Conversion looks pretty good.
Image is a bit soft and I think you needed more DOF and probably a faster shutter speed.
Might have improved with a bit more light on grandpa's face, but this is likely a candid. Sometimes capturing the moment trumps all the technicals.
I would add a bit of vignette upper left and maybe burn down the towel left frame edge a bit.