Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Business Skills or Photography Skills?

morby
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Business Skills or Photography Skills?

Which is more important to success in this industry: business skills or photography skills? Why? Which do you place more focus on? I know they aren't mutually exclusive, but I'm interested in hearing everyone's thoughts.

Jul 23, 2014 at 07:31 PM
myam203
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Business Skills or Photography Skills?

I know that business skills are more important.

I'm no prodigy, and I know that photography is a subjective thing, but I don't mind saying that I've seen mediocre or downright crummy photographers book themselves solid (one studio apparently does 120 a year and is booked 2 years out). Whether it's their ability to set expectations, their price, people skills, management skills, marketing or whatever else, they're doing it. The common denominator, or so it seems, is that they always deliver what they promise. So, while I think their work is crap, some people find it acceptable, and since they set the bar so low, their clients are always happy... or so it seems.

Jul 23, 2014 at 08:58 PM
joelconner
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Business Skills or Photography Skills?

If you want to financially fulfilled...business.

I have seen mediocre to decent photographers make a killing in this industry because they know how to best run a business. It does not make many fans among the more artistic among us, but I doubt they care. I would say it would be much easier to make a good living with solid business skills and average photography skills than the other way around.

Jul 23, 2014 at 10:19 PM
glort
• • • •
[X]
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Business Skills or Photography Skills?

joelconner wrote:
If you want to financially fulfilled...business.