Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

end

Archive 2014 · What gear do Canon DSLR users hang on to?

Gochugogi
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · What gear do Canon DSLR users hang on to?

I don't mind collecting gear--and other objects--as owning and playing with toys are all part of the fun. And I certainly have plenty of things I don't need and rarely or never use, e.g., my front yard, a tux and a three legged dog...

Jul 10, 2014 at 04:23 AM
ggreene
• • • • •
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · What gear do Canon DSLR users hang on to?

justruss wrote:
I don't hang on to things I have no intention of using. I will hang on to things I intend to use infrequently but are hard to replace. I don't hang on to things I use very infrequently that are easy to replace.

I'm a photographer, not a collector of gear.

Same here. I use to keep a lot of gear around but a few years back I sold it all off as it just made no sense to have it collecting dust in a gear bag. Far better to sell it to someone who can make use of it.

Jul 10, 2014 at 04:29 AM
ZoneV
• • •
p.2 #3 · p.2 #3 · What gear do Canon DSLR users hang on to?

I do have some old Canon AE1 and A1 cameras, but primarly I started and used Yashica and Contax cameras back then - I still have some, but donīt use them.

But cameras are "only" the instruments to capture the image and store it - the lens is for me the main part.
So I do have a lot of lenses, my wife recently said I could use 3 lenses every day, for a whole year without using a lens twice. But thats is exaggerated - at least I think that.
I am not a collector, but I need some stuff for experiments - I am an imaging engineer at a camera manufacturer. And I have still a lot of fun doing crazy things with my gear.
For my current main project I bought about 50 lenses.