Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Forum & Miscellaneous | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Any photography teachers/professors?

JesseShotland
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Any photography teachers/professors?

Hey all,

I'm currently a freelance photographer in NYC doing weddings, mitzvahs, etc., but I've always been intrigued by the idea of being a photography professor. Does anyone know what kind of education you need for that? Any other helpful info or tips?

I'm 21 and the thought of having a stable career is starting to really appeal to me. I used to tutor photography at the highschool I went to and I loved it.

Jul 09, 2014 at 01:05 PM
Paul Mo
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Any photography teachers/professors?

The usual academic route in my part of the world is degree - master's - doctorate. One can teach in many institutions with a master's (and a master's may be a prerequisite for a teaching licence in some tertiary institutes).

Remember that as you teach you must conduct ongoing research - which keeps you engaged and alive. In photography that can be long form documentary projects supported by written work - all peer reviewed/vetted.

If you can find a school whose vibe you like, fostering a working relationship (as a technician or similar) with them can really pay off.

Jul 09, 2014 at 07:49 PM
jim allison
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Any photography teachers/professors?

I worked in the camera business for most of my life. I decided I wanted to teach, went back to school at age 58 and got my MFA. If you want to teach on the college level you will need
this degree or you won't be considered. If you want to teach in k-12 you will need a BA+