Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Backlit Fern, weeping wall, and sunstar in the Columbia Gorge

TJ Thorne
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Backlit Fern, weeping wall, and sunstar in the Columbia Gorge

~Let It Shine~

I don't have many chances to get out to nature currently. "Life gets in the way of living" kind of stuff. When my friend Tula invited me on a hike on one of the busiest trails in Oregon on the Fourth of July... I felt no hesitation about tagging along.

I think my favorite image from the day is this one right here. I was hanging out in a cave when I noticed the backlit ferns. Not thinking anything of it.. I just started shooting. I was lucky enough to catch the sun peeking through the space between the top of the cave and the opposing ridge line. Water dripping down the outside cliff face adds another pleasing element to the scene.

Yeah.. there was a line at the payment box in the parking lot. Yeah.. there was barely any parking. Yup... there was a highway of people walking up the trail and cooling off in the waters. Yes.. I shot Punchbowl Falls. But sometimes when you have those chances to get out and immerse yourself in natural beauty you just need to suck it up and let that opportunity shine.

Jul 08, 2014 at 07:33 PM
JimFox
• • • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Backlit Fern, weeping wall, and sunstar in the Columbia Gorge

What a cool shot! That is one amazing take away, and one you wouldn't have gotten had you the attitude that you didn't want to shoot icons or shoot with crowds. Most often when I am in crowded locations, the beauty of the place allows me not to focus on the people but on the place.

Jim

Jul 08, 2014 at 07:39 PM
psharvic
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Backlit Fern, weeping wall, and sunstar in the Columbia Gorge

Way to be in tune with what was really happening, TJ.

Jul 08, 2014 at 08:01 PM
davidnholtjr
• • • •