New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Working with the Sun. - Need Help

Ljburb01

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Working with the Sun. - Need Help

I admit that I am a very amateur photographer. I mostly take pictures of my kids or friends' kids. I am having an issue with the sun.

I noticed when I placed my subjects in front of the sun they would squint their eyes and complained. Okay. So I put the sun behind them. Easy fix I thought. Wrong. Now I'm dealing with this cloudy haze in all of my pictures. It's like I can't win.

What do you all do in reference to the sun and positioning? This picture is SOOC. It was taken at 9AM when the sun wasn't very hot. The sun is behind and slightly to their left.

Jul 06, 2014 at 07:48 AM
Eyeball
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Working with the Sun. - Need Help

This is lens flare caused by the sun shining directly on the front of the lens.

To combat this:
- Use a lens hood
- Use your hand or other object to block the sun from shining on the lens.
- Remove any filters that you have on the lens. They can contribute to the flare, particularly if they are inexpensive filters with poor surface coatings.

Jul 06, 2014 at 10:14 AM
JameelH
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Working with the Sun. - Need Help

Good suggestion by Eyeball. I'd add

Use an angle either horizontally or vertically such that the sun isn't shining straight in.

Jul 06, 2014 at 02:35 PM
Ljburb01

p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Working with the Sun. - Need Help

Great suggestions.

Thank you Eyeball. I have a lens hood that I have never even used. I will try it next time.

JameelH - The sun wasn't straight in. It was behind them, but to the left of them.

Jul 06, 2014 at 06:37 PM
sbeme
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Working with the Sun. - Need Help

Dennis, AKA Eyeball covered it.