New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Trip Location Advice & Meet-ups | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · San Francisco in August.

unclemikey
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · San Francisco in August.

I will be visiting San Francisco in August for about 4-5 days as my wife has a convention there and I am going along to off gas from a years worth of work. This is not the typical what kit should I pack as I've been a pro photographer for more years then I can remember but I haven't been to San Francisco in about 20 years. I would take advice as to wide
or long zoom though.

My question to you local folks or those who travel to SF regularly is what can I see and where should I go. My style is more journalism and landscape, structure, then pure art as many of you are into.

I'll be staying at the Hilton Hotel Union Station, 333 O' Farrell St. I have from 9:00AM until about 5:00PM to be alone with my kit and no one to tell me what to do. Also, I would appreciate if giving instructions with walking tours not to make them too long as my legs don't have what it takes any more. I know I want to see China Town and Fisherman's Wharf. What else can you suggest for me to see or photograph?

Thanks in advance.

Jun 13, 2014 at 12:42 PM
gdanmitchell
• • • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · San Francisco in August.

I'm just back from a morning shooting in San Francisco. :-)

If you like city and street stuff, you will be able to just walk out your door and do a whole lot of photography. San Francisco is a very walkable city—despite a few very steep hills—and I love to just grab my camera and head out and shoot. From your location you can easily walk to the Embarcadero waterfront areas, to much of the downtown area, and more. If by "structure" you mean buildings and forms and what not, there's plenty of that sort of thing everywhere in the City