Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2014 · 24mm 3.5 Tilt-shift Samyang / What do you say?

hernanGarg

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 24mm 3.5 Tilt-shift Samyang / What do you say?

Hi guys how are you? it's my first time that i post a topic asking for some advices. I would like to introduce me on architecture photography, so would like to buy a tilt shift lens. My pocket it's a bit limited to buy nikon version. I'm from Argentina and here all is 25-30% more expensive, that's the reason i see samyang with good eyes.

Would it be a good choice?

Jun 04, 2014 at 07:51 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 24mm 3.5 Tilt-shift Samyang / What do you say?

I have the Canon TS-E 24/3.5L II, but I have been watching threads about the Samyang TS 24/3.5 with interest. My overall conclusion is that the Samyang has image quality more-or-less the same as the Canon TS-E 24/3.5L Mk I, while the Canon Mk II is a lot better (and more expensive). Here's some threads from the Canon forum,

https://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1210229

https://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1270204
https://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1249177
https://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1214354

As far as price and 'good choice' goes, it's difficult to say. Many people used the Canon Mk I for many years with great results, and so there's no reason you can't get great results from the Samyang. I think it probably makes sense to get a new Samyang rather than a used Canon Mk I, because you at least have a warranty with the Samyang.

Jun 04, 2014 at 08:31 AM
hernanGarg

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 24mm 3.5 Tilt-shift Samyang / What do you say?