Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Hendrik, Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

nMP experience?

OntheRez
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · nMP experience?

As a professional photographer, I have been flogging my mid 2010 dual quad 2.54 GHz Mac Pro for over 4 years. It has been hot-rodded as far as the machine will go: 32GB RAM, PCI-e SSD boot/root drive, 6G SSD for photo storage. It still has the HD 5770 graphics processor. It is getting long in the tooth as the latest iMac with fastest processor is clearly quicker in most photo applications.

I am both a photojournalist (mostly HS sports) and a "fine art" image maker. The PJ part is always on deadline. I'll often have 1,000 RAW files per event to sort, discard, edit to get the 2,3 that make publication.

As every photographer knows, the RAW files continue to grow and likely the deadlines get shorter. I just read the Barefeets analysis which is quite interesting. I was more than a little surprised at how well the top end iMac holds up against the base nMP. It appears that the nMP kicks butt on "large sequential transfers" and on OpenGL rendering other than this they are close. I am curious as to why the nMP has superior SSD performance. Different type of SSD or more likely superior data paths and handling?