Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Volleyball newbie

ny888
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Volleyball newbie

This is my daughter's 1st year playing club volleyball and I've become the defacto team photographer. Really struggled with my shots most of the year till I stumbled on the Volleyball Tips thread started by Jay (Rolette).

I want to thank Jay not only for the thread but for answering all of my PMs and questions. It really helped in our final tournament weekend and I got a lot more keepers. Maybe too many as I spent a lot of time in Lightroom.

I'm still learning proper AI-Servo technique. Getting too many OOF shots still. Also anticipation is not the best as too many shots are missing the ball in the frame. Only saving grace for me is that for 11 and 12 year olds, there are very few digs and plays above the net.

Just starting to get better and the season is over !

Team lost a lot in the beginning but getting some wins now.

May 27, 2014 at 12:12 PM
lhryshko
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Volleyball newbie

I'm a third year noob at shooting my daughter's club volleyball, but I'm finally starting to feel comfortable doing it. She's 15 now, so their skill set has increased quite a bit from when I started, which is approximately where you are.

In addition to the great collection of tips compiled by Jay, the best advice I could offer you is to focus on a single thing at a time. Just shoot digs, or blocks, or spikes, or sets at any given time. This really allows you to concentrate on one thing and truly master it. The normal tendency of trying to get everything during a game is very difficult and frustrating for a new shooter (or was at least for me). You will rarely be in a physical position to shoot more than one or two things well. Once you have these skills polished, volleyball becomes much easier and enjoyable to shoot.

Good luck and keep posting.

May 28, 2014 at 08:47 PM
ny888
• •