Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2014 · Future of mirrorless causing any buying paralysis?

HRace

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Future of mirrorless causing any buying paralysis?

Hi,

I'm new to FM but have been browsing this site for years and using Nikon for almost 10 years now (DSLRs).

I actually finally joined FM with the intent to buy / sell after browsing for "big glass" and drooling over the quality of lens sales here (compared to ebay, craigslist, etc.). Even KEH, though trusted, lacks the ability to discuss the lens with the previous owner. Eh, maybe no need for some of you, but it's a nice plus to being here.

I know there's plenty of mirrorless threads and I'm not necessarily here to debate the future of that, but is anyone uncertain enough (like me) to delay purchases of big lenses? Just curious.

I'm at a comfortable spot with my gear, been using the D700 for about 4 years and have a really nice collection of lenses (the trinity and 85 1.4G). I would LOVE a bigger lens (300 or 400 f2.8)....but I'm at the point where I'm really questioning what the future will hold and slightly unwilling to sink a ton of cash ($12K 400 f2.8 = $$$ to me!) with fear that some magic mirrorless silver bullet materializes from Fuji and takes the Nikon/Canon DSLR market down a few notches. Not a huge worry, but a minor concern!