New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Digital Asset Management

blitzn
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Digital Asset Management

Somehow, back in the day when I was a newbie, and for the record I've only advanced to a 'teenbie', not quite yet an 'adultbie' ..... Anyway, back in the day I started down the post processing path with Capture 1. I've been very happy with it, maybe because I know nothing else ��. But asset management is not its strength, or at least I can't seem to get a workflow with its media one add-on.

So the question is for those of you who use a standalone asset management, what do you use and why?

May 02, 2014 at 03:14 PM
Monito
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Digital Asset Management

You could export out of Lightroom to Capture1 or use the "Edit with" context menu item to do individual pictures or just use Lightroom standalone for asset management.

I've shifted over to using Lightroom to manage everything in one catalog: all my Raws, Work-in-progress, Processed (finished), Portfolios, and also for crops & resizes & watermarked copies of finished work.

Lightroom is very good, but far from perfect. I have beefs with some aspects of keywording and rating (among other things), though I use Lightroom every day, particularly for asset management. I export from Lightroom to Photoshop or GIMP for finishing work on the finest photos, but Lightroom development tools (post-processing) are quite powerful.

But if you want more advanced asset management and content management, there are expensive solutions that large companies use.

If you want content management for website, Drupal is the approach I would choose, but I haven't gone there yet (haven't downloaded or installed or tinkered). It's free.