New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2014 · Spray and Pray

docsmiles17
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Spray and Pray

Most viewers reading this thread have heard this term and I would like to debunk the negative connotation associated with it. I will take just one example of this technique-- the batters swing in baseball, as to why its utilized

If you are not aware, a great keeper is getting the ball near the bat in the frame. A batters swing takes about ¼ of a sec. and if shooting with with a Canon 1DIV at 10 fps as I do, you get at most 3 frames for the entire swing. Its not uncommon to NEVER get the ball in any frame. I have been shooting baseball for 7+ years and can count on one hand how many shots I have with the bat actually in contact with the ball.

With such a small window of opportunity in a batters swing, the ONLY technique is the 'spray and pray" as you never know what your gonna get until culling.

I am sure there are other types of photography where this technique is utilized and this is just one example of where its beneficial.

Apr 27, 2014 at 12:55 AM
Alexluu627
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Spray and Pray

Spray and prey is good for sports and catching animal, but I wouldn't use it for portraits, fashion, or anything else. I like to shoot like I'm still using film and try to make every shot count.

Apr 27, 2014 at 02:33 AM
Paul Mo
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Spray and Pray

My 1D3 is on full burst, but sometimes I will set my 5D3 to single shot just to slow myself down. But yeah, there is a time and a place for spray and pray - but it is more like spray and track personally.

Apr 27, 2014 at 05:53 AM
sjms
• • • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Spray and Pray