Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Review: Sanho iUSBportCAMERA

aboudd
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Review: Sanho iUSBportCAMERA

From my blog: www.foto-gizmo.blogspot.com

I am posting this review in full as there are no photos to go with it.

Quickest test drive ever ... Sanho iUSBportCAMERA

I admit it, I am a bit of a dinosaur to you younger photographers. I have seen a lot of progress in the 50 years or so that I have been buying camera gear, some of it great, some terrible. As a working pro I find it necessary to embrace newer technology when it benefits my work, but for myself, I want a simple interface, a short learning curve and of course, the damn thing should work.

The past year or so there has been a proliferation of devices to offer us remote control of our cameras. First they were wired, then wireless. Canon's top offering is the LC-5 Wireless Controller at over $400. It features an operating distance of up to 300 feet. I can't think of any situation in which I would want to be 300 feet from my camera, especially in any big city, but I am sure wildlife photographers would find it helpful. The unit has 4 control modes: Single exposure, continuous, test, and a 3 1/5 second delay. It also has control of metering and shutter release. OK, useful, but compared to the new kids on the block this is a very expensive antique, or at least the concept is.