Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2014 · Any long term owners of Feisol 3441 tripod(s) ? (and a hello..)

Bill Cone

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Any long term owners of Feisol 3441 tripod(s) ? (and a hello..)

Hello, I may not be your 'average' photographic gear obsessed member, but I do use cameras, telescopes and other photographic equipment in pursuing my visual interests, professionally and privately. I work in the computer animation industry as a designer, and on the side, as well as for work at times, I regularly paint out doors, and have been at it for about 18 years. I do yearly backpacking trips to the eastern Sierra with other artists to paint. I've used an old Manfrotto 3205s for many years to mount a paintbox, easel and umbrella on. My goal is to keep, or reduce the weight of the tripod, while increasing strength, as, on our next trip, we'll be at 11,000', and mostly out of the trees, so I'm expecting a fair amount of wind. I have nowhere near the need for precision and perfect damping that a long lens user will need, but I am looking for something durable, light weight, and more stable than what I currently am using. Of course I looked at Gitzo, but combining that with a strong (non-ballhead) mount begins to get absurdly costly for my less precise, analog needs. I don't mind paying for a bit of overkill in terms of weight capacity and stability though...