New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Zoom lens for NEX?

j.cho

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Zoom lens for NEX?

I asked this question on the wrong board and got no response so hopefully my luck will be better here.

I recently purchased the sony nex 6 as my everyday camera, and looking to find a good zoom lens. I have the sigma 19 and hoping to get something to complement it.

Since I'm a casual hobbyist, I'm looking in the mid price range. I heard good things about the 55-210 lens. Is that my only option or are there better choices?

Thanks for the help!

Apr 06, 2014 at 08:43 AM
ken.vs.ryu
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Zoom lens for NEX?

The better choice is the new 70-200 f4 G FE but it is 5x the price. The 55-210 should do you well and it's a good bargain. You can also get the 18-200. You can also get an LA-EA2 and use Minolta/Sony A mount lenses.

Apr 06, 2014 at 08:51 AM
j.cho

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Zoom lens for NEX?

Thanks for the recommendations. The other lens are out of my price range, but I'll definitely look into the adapter.

Apr 06, 2014 at 06:03 PM
nick53097
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Zoom lens for NEX?

My best lens for Nex 6 was Sigma 30mm ( well, Zeiss 24 mm is even better, but price and size too much for me )
I did try several zoom lenses, but the difference in results pushed me back to sigma

Apr 07, 2014 at 11:52 AM
mMontag
• • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Zoom lens for NEX?

Are you needing an e-mount zoom? What FL? I'll assume you have the 16-50 kit lens - no real IQ but it is compact - makes the Nex into a P&S.

If you are OK with an adapter and manual focus / aperture there are many good zooms - Minolta or Contax (C/Y or G) 35-70mm and the Contax C/Y 80-200/4 and many of the Canon FD's. The Contax are nice and small with excellent IQ.