Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2014 · Going Alone

JimKied
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Going Alone

I'm one of those folks that have a day job (I'm a CPA by profession) and the job is quite demanding of my time. But I do get time off, although it is often not at the most ideal times of year. I've been a little jealous of those of you who seem to be able to go to locations whenever the time is best (spring blooms, fall colors, new greens, winter, etc.) and actually can plan trips to go at those times.

Being married, whenever I do get free, I need to plan my trips with family in mind, and I do enjoy spending time with the family, don't get me wrong. But I also would like to have some opportunities to focus on just the photography.

I know that many of you go to your photo locations alone, some often doing the primitive camping thing for several days. I'm entertaining the thought of going alone on a trip for myself. Tax season will be over soon and I will have some time for the end of April to get away for a few days. My wife cannot leave work at that time, so I may be going at it alone. If I do this, it will be up in GSMNP and I will probably do day hikes, not stay out "in the wilds" overnight, although I may go up on top of the mountains (along the BRP) for some night shots.

With that in mind, what kinds of things do you do to enhance your safety? What do you take with you? I actually do not worry too much about wildlife, although I will be in an area that has plenty of snakes, including several varieties of poisonous ones. I worry more about ankle sprains, and injuries of that nature or falling in the water while rock hopping along creeks and such. Or should I just cast my worries to the wind and just enjoy it moment by moment?