New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Gitzo basalt toughness?

wordfool
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Gitzo basalt toughness?

I'm curious how tough Gitzo's "basalt" tripods are compared to carbon fiber and aluminum. I'm looking at buying a cheap set of basalt legs that are "well used" -- mainly rub marks, but a few deeper scrapes and scratches on the legs, but the joints all look fine. Since all these dings are on the top (thickest) leg sections I don't see they're going to compromise strength much, if at all, but I've no experience with Gitzo's basalt material.

Mar 30, 2014 at 04:45 PM
dcains
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Gitzo basalt toughness?

I've had a small Basalt (G1097, IIRC) for maybe 5 years. It's gotten scuffed up, but still works as good as new. The basalt is weird stuff. It has a slippery feel, and a "plasticness" which is very unlike the super-stiff and hard CF. Might even be more durable, as it seems to "give" a bit. Seems OK for a smaller tripod, but I don't think the material would be ideal for a full-size model. HTH.

Mar 31, 2014 at 08:28 PM
wordfool
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Gitzo basalt toughness?

It is curious material and does feel more plasticy than carbon. It strikes me as more of a marketing gimmick than a material chosen for specific qualities considering no other manufacturer seems to be using it.

I ended up going for the tripod (a 2930EX) because it was so cheap ($160 including a fairly new Manfrotto 498RC2 ball head) and none of the scrapes on the legs were very deep -- it was certainly not babied but also not abused since it's otherwise in generally good condition.

Mar 31, 2014 at 08:55 PM
AnthonyRay
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Gitzo basalt toughness?

dcains wrote: