Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Some family portraits

FarmerJohn
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Some family portraits

Some portraits of my family members...
I'm not that experienced with portraits, so all suggestions regarding composition/lighting/technique/etc are welcome, so I know what to look for next time. I'm not trying to do much 'beauty retouching' in terms of making people look slimmer or anything like that.

All with Canon 5D and new-to-me Sigma 35 1.4 and Canon 85 1.8. No flash, just ambient/window lighting. All cropped in somewhat, so there is room to re-crop if you think so.

#1 - Generations

#2 - Old Love

#3 - A Helping Hand

#4 - Really bugs me that I missed the focus on the front eye... but i think the lighting is okay... any suggestions?

#5 - "I always prefer the academic look," he says

Edited on Mar 27, 2014 at 01:11 PM · View previous versions

Mar 26, 2014 at 06:46 PM
AuntiPode
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Some family portraits

Prime tip for portraits, be wary of background clutter and distractions. Where possible, position and compose to avoid visual clutter and distractions. If unavoidable, try to use a wide aperture to throw the background as far out of focus as possible. Note this is generally easier with larger format sensors, longer lenses and wide apertures.

Another portrait tip, it often helps to knock back the red/magenta that can give skin a less appealing hue. In Photoshop, a bump of the hue between +2 and +7 in a Hue/Saturation layer is often an visual boon.

Mar 26, 2014 at 09:52 PM
howephillip

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Some family portraits

AuntiPode wrote:
it often helps to knock back the red/magenta that can give skin a less appealing hue.