New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       4       end

Archive 2014 · Nikon DF or D700?

Sagar
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Nikon DF or D700?

I am a hobbyist (including a hobby of trying new gear here and there) and very much zeroed on Nikon FX. Where I am struggling is to decide between D700 vs DF. My primary interest is people (trying to do FPJ) and currently have 18-35G, 50/1.4G and 85/1.8G. I am looking for a camera which I can keep at least 3-5 years if not longer.

To keep it simple, keeping cost factor out, I am trying to decide between how good is ~5 year old 12M Pro Body vs latest and greatest 16M Nikon DF. I have tried both for handling and both seem good to me with DF being bit confusing, as I am used to Nikon DSLR style since D70 days

If you have to make a choice do you think its worth going for D700 now or better to go with DF specially since I am looking for next 5 yrs?

Mar 24, 2014 at 10:58 AM
James R
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Nikon DF or D700?

DF, if it feels good in your hand.

Mar 24, 2014 at 11:06 AM
workerdrone
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Nikon DF or D700?

The D700 is truly one of Nikon's all time greats - look at how popular it still is, what, 8+ years after intro? Not many bodies can claim that in the digital world.

But I think the used market on it is way overpriced. D3's and D700's seem now to be asking about the same in many cases.

If money is not an issue, I'd go Df. You'll lose $ as it depreciates and the next version comes out, but the files will be much better as will the high iso.

If a bit of an issue, why not a D600? For FX, a super deal

Mar 24, 2014 at 11:11 AM
VinnieJ
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Nikon DF or D700?

Hard to go wrong with either. I have a Df so that's shows what I would do BUT it would be difficult to put up an argument against the D700. Especially since they can be had for a lot less money on the second hand market.