New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Canon 1DX "issue"/question

PLGrant13

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Canon 1DX "issue"/question

I have a new 1DX that I am still learning. I mainly shoot motorsports at night with a Lumedyne P2XX flash and the results have been remarkable. I also do some freelance for a newspaper and last night they sent me on a high school baseball game assignment. Since I normally shoot in single mode, I thought this would be a great time to let the camera stretch it's legs in continuous mode.

I noticed two things, one that was alarming...

I was shooting in Shutter Priority and noticed there was a VERY slight temperature difference between frames when shooting continuous with AWB set. I went to Manual WB and that cured it. I take it that it's just a nuance of the camera in AWB?

The more alarming thing was when I was "chimping", on about 4 occasions, after the shot the LCD would do the normal 2 second review (what I have it set at) and after it went off, I would try to review it via the "arrow" button and the screen would remain dark......"Menu" button? Nothing either......Cycle the power to the camera? Nothing.....Remove the battery and replace it? Nothing....... It would only allow me to review it after I had taken another shot. It was very random.....Like I say, I took around 300 shots and it only did this probably 4 times. Am I losing it in my old age and missing something?

Thanks for any and all responses.

Mar 19, 2014 at 12:27 PM
dhachey
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Canon 1DX "issue"/question

I've noticed a very slight WB shift a couple of times, but it was in a complex artificial lighting situation (LED, incandescent mix). I've also seen slight focus shifts under those situations when using AI Servo. I've never had a problem with the LCD locking up. What firmware version are you using?

...Dave