Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Starting a Business

dpwelsh

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · Starting a Business

Hello,

I am new to the forum, but I've been a freelance photographer for almost 20 years. I say
"freelance" as in, mostly as a hobby, but I have done some small work and sell a fair amount
of my prints. I'm interested in taking a more serious approach to my photography services as
a profitable entity. The only thing really holding me back is the startup capital to fully outfit
with the proper equipment for portrait and wedding work. I have a Nikon D700 with only a
cheap 18-105mm lens at the present moment. Funds being a significant problem.

I believe I have the skills necessary to be successful as a paid professional photographer,
what I lack at present moment is the professional grade glass, studio equipment etc.

Realistically speaking, what type of capital is commonly needed to finance the startup of a
photography business? Lenses of the wedding/professional portrait quality are incredibly
expensive. Any advice or just take out a big loan, buy what I think I need to get started and go?

Due to my lack of indoor studio equipment, I mostly do outdoor shots at present moment.
Here's a few samples of my work, keeping in mind these are with an 18-105 lens, hardly the
choice for a professional.

Mar 14, 2014 at 10:24 PM
colinm
• • •
p.1 #2 · Starting a Business

dpwelsh wrote:
Realistically speaking, what type of capital is commonly needed to finance the startup of a photography business?

$0-100 for a state license, $0-100 for a city license, and around $500 for insurance. Let's call it $700 on the high side.