Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2014 · Beauty Dishes...how much difference?

joelconner
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Beauty Dishes...how much difference?

I have never used a beauty dish before, but I have been planning to pick up one for years. We just closed on a new studio house, so I will finally have the studio space I need.

So...how much difference in light quality do the different dishes have? Is the difference one more of build quality/durability/functionality, or is the light actually different from the different ones? It seems a pretty straightforward piece of equipment, so I would think (probably incorrectly) that the light would be similar from most.

I am using PCB lights (Einsteins and AB's)

Thanks!

Mar 14, 2014 at 11:21 AM
colinm
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Beauty Dishes...how much difference?

The light's actually different. Whether that matters to you or which one you prefer, on the other hand, is entirely a matter of personal taste.

Dishes of a very similar design will look similar, but there's a lot of variation in design. The PCB dish will look similar to a Profoto dish, but you'll get a different look from a Chimera dish, and a totally different look altogether from any of Mola's dishes (which themselves offer several different looks).

Mar 14, 2014 at 11:34 AM
lroger

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Beauty Dishes...how much difference?

You may find this to prove useful; this site contains a 3-part series on beauty dishes
http://thelightingacademy.com/blog/

Mar 14, 2014 at 12:50 PM
joelconner
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Beauty Dishes...how much difference?

awesome...thanks, guys. much appreciated!

Mar 14, 2014 at 01:00 PM
leethecam
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Beauty Dishes...how much difference?