Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · D3s vs D4

ohsnaphappy
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · D3s vs D4

Hey sports photographers! I thought I'd hop over here and ask you guys for some input on the D3s vs D4. I'm a wedding photographer and I shoot 30-40 weddings a year. I'm about to request an evaluation from NPS and want to know which I should start with.

My main questions are:

1) Does either have a better keeper rate when shooting wide open? If you've shot both does one have an AF advantage?

2) Does the D4 have a noticeable advantage in DR? Please don't refer to DXO. I'm just wondering if you've shot both if you've noticed the DR difference. White wedding gown, black tux, needless to DR is pretty important for me.

3) My last question concerns resolution. I already know the answer. But when I'm looking at the D4 I see the opportunity for more croppability. Which is appealing. What about fine detail? The D4 have a noticeable advantage? I don't pixel peep. I guess I mean noticeable to a client who receives a 20x30 print/canvas.

I really appreciate any insight you guys/gals can offer. A lot of info I'm finding on the internet comes from people who have not shot both bodies. Lots of test charts and stuff like that - useless to me.

Mar 12, 2014 at 01:08 PM
Widgic
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · D3s vs D4

I'll try to answer before the moderator shoots this post down (as he's done with my previous gear related post as this is a no-no on this forum...):

I had 2 D3s's that I replaced with a pair of D4's. To answer your questions: