Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

about to buy a Canon 180mm L lens. Need guidance

hdm1990

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · about to buy a Canon 180mm L lens. Need guidance

Hi guys, first time poster here. A little about me.

I am pretty new to the dslr world. I own a 60d with a 18-55 and a 75-300. I hope I can learn a lot from this forum and its members.

I really wanted to get into macro photography and there is a local deal that I am interested in.

There is a Canon 180mm F/3.5L macro lens and the guy selling it will go down to $600.I quickly jump to the "if it sounds too good..." conclusion.

I would be doing a face to face deal. He told me we could meet and I could test the lens, no compromise.

Is there anything specific about this lens I should look out for?Any advice for a newbie? Ive read a couple of articles about buying used lenses, but if anyone can give me specifics to this lens or canon L lenses I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks for the help in advance!

Here are some pics he sent me

Edited on Mar 15, 2014 at 04:42 AM · View previous versions

Mar 07, 2014 at 12:28 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · about to buy a Canon 180mm L lens. Need guidance

Hi Hernan,

Welcome to FM.

Having a face-to-face deal will let you determine if the lens is in decent shape. OTOH, as you said, $600 is pretty cheap. It usually goes for $915 to $1070 on eBay, used, depending on condition. Chances are good that it's hot.

Also, remember that buddy knows that you have a wad of cash in your pocket. Make sure that you meet in a public place, with people around. I like coffee shops or banks.