New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

3       4       end

Archive 2014 · F1.8 vs f1.4 50mm

jbourne

Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · F1.8 vs f1.4 50mm

StillFingerz wrote:
Jborne, folllow the link below for a look at the sharpness differences between the 1.8 and 1.4...the 1.4 at 1.8 has an edge...see for yourself.

http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/ISO-12233-Sample-Crops.aspx?Lens=105&Camera=453&Sample=0&FLI=0&API=0&LensComp=115&CameraComp=453&SampleComp=0&FLIComp=0&APIComp=2

I've no experiences with color differences, but it's not uncommon, nor are contrast differences as quality/price rise...

Hum. According to this, the difference is pretty big. I guess it's time to do some of my own testing in my backyard. Oh wait............. it's all snow. Nothing to shoot pictures of.

Mar 04, 2014 at 11:07 PM
StillFingerz
• • • •
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · F1.8 vs f1.4 50mm

jbourne wrote:
Hum. According to this, the difference is pretty big. I guess it's time to do some of my own testing in my backyard. Oh wait............. it's all snow. Nothing to shoot pictures of.

I forgot to add, that side by side image test also shows a slight 'contrast' increase for the 1.4 as well, it's subtle but it's there. Notice a slight brightness in image as you switch between them.

Another note, when looking at similar lenses, check the aperture blade count and shape, this accounts for differences in the out of focus bits-n-pieces; pentagons, circles, donuts, etc.

Lastly, my evening event kit consists of the 28 f1.8, 50 f1.4 and 83 f1.8, sometimes the 100 f2.8 mac...

Mar 04, 2014 at 11:17 PM
johnctharp
• • • • •
p.2 #3 · p.2 #3 · F1.8 vs f1.4 50mm

StillFingerz wrote:
John, most excellent counter, I've not encountered the pentagon issue, just found the ergo useless for my use, good info