FM Forum Rules
Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · The Valley of Fire

Lisa_Holloway
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · The Valley of Fire

I was doing a portrait session during monsoon season here at one of my favorite locations (the Valley of Fire) and snapped a quick series of landscape photos at the end of the shoot and stitched them together in Photoshop - this is 7 images combined to create a panorama. It is so beautiful here! The resolution on this image is huge - this definitely does not do it justice at all. It would print at a 6x1 ratio - perhaps a cluster of three 15x30 metal prints? What do you think? Go gentle on me - I'm a portrait photographer by trade and only dabble in landscapes, though I do love doing them and would love to do more!

Mar 04, 2014 at 01:03 PM
edubay121

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · The Valley of Fire

I for one love the image. Especially the transition in colors/lighting from left to right. I've only been to the Valley of Fire once, and quite a nice area to drive and walk through.

Mar 04, 2014 at 01:15 PM
JimFox
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · The Valley of Fire

Hey Lisa,

It's always great to have you stop by here with your landscape shots. But how did you get all the way to VoF for a portrait session? Aren't you in the Midwest somewhere?

I like this pano, it gives some idea to the great expanse of those cool red rocks. The only area on the shot that I am not keen on is the left part of the sky where the sun was too hot for the shot. I like the idea of having gold over there and the transition of light and color that can be seen in the sky with this wide of a pano, but I wish the edges of color in the clouds was not so harsh.