New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2014 · Grey Market D610 Vs D610 with USA Warranty

Douglas L
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Grey Market D610 Vs D610 with USA Warranty

Hi guys. Long time Canon shooter here. Looking to get a D610 mainly for the sensor for landscape, travel. I am not abandoning Canon totally (yet). I could clearly see how the Exmore sensor can benefit me in certain high contrast scenes. Just want to get a D610 with the 16-35f/4 VR and the 24-120 f/4 VR for casual landscape and travel. I am just a hobbyist. I looked at the Sony A7 route but decided that's not for me, mainly because the poor selection of native lenses. I don't really want to fuss around with adapters.

The best D610 with USA warranty I could find is around $1900, while the imported D610 go for about $1650 with no USA warranty. That's a pretty big difference.

Should I take the chance? I know I am the only one who can answer that question but will appreciate some suggestions. Right now I am not looking at the D600, can't get a new one anyway.

TIA.

Douglas

Mar 03, 2014 at 08:19 PM
M635_Guy
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Grey Market D610 Vs D610 with USA Warranty

I'd buy US used before gray-market used.

Mar 03, 2014 at 09:05 PM
MDoc9523
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Grey Market D610 Vs D610 with USA Warranty

I would get a refurbish D600

Mar 03, 2014 at 09:27 PM
ckcarr
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Grey Market D610 Vs D610 with USA Warranty

You get what you pay for. Although the cameras are identical.

The gray market costs less, but then when you go to sell it, you will receive less also. The market adjusts.

Nikon USA will not service gray market either, although other independent service centers might, if they can get parts from Nikon. And usually the seller says they will cover it...

So, if your comfortable with it... go ahead. Someone's buying them.