Home · Register · Search · View Winners · Software · Hosting · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username   Password

FM Forum Rules
Nature & Wildlife Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Nature & Wildlife | Join Upload & Sell

1       2      
       4       end

stealing snowy owls

chris_proctor

Upload & Sell: Off
p.3 #1 · p.3 #1 · stealing snowy owls

I'd like to share some feedback here from a falconers perspective. I have been a falconer for nearly 21 years. I fly my birds daily and hunt waterfowl & upland game with my falcons during each seaosn with success. I am also a golden eagle research biologist and a district manager for a mobile vet clinic.

This thread, entitled "stealing" Snowy owls can be viewd as slanderish, because he was not stealing any birds. This guy ACTUALLY turned out to have the proper trapping permit for a snowy owl. He was not cited. In falconry, you can train owls to hunt with you in the same manor as a hawk. After being on a falconry permit for 2 years he would be allowed to breed the bird as well if he ALSO had a propagation permit.

Most all falconers are extremely ethical. We train and fly our birds free, let them hunt daily and then give them quality care and treatment in order to thrive. Falconry has been around for nearly 4000 years, though in America it has only been around for 80 years, give or take.

The only thing he was doing wrong here was trespassing on privet property. I think this thread is misleading and doesn't properly display the truth.

Not trying to argue, as everyone has their opinions.....but c'mon people, let's state what is what here and no more than that.

Mar 03, 2014 at 11:19 PM
jmckayak
• •
p.3 #2 · p.3 #2 · stealing snowy owls